Author Topic: Superhub R36 Firmware!!  (Read 9235 times)

Offline Craig

  • SysOp
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,543
  • Reputation: 6
Re: Superhub R36 Firmware!!
« Reply #15 on: June 19, 2012, 01:22:23 pm »
yeah looks nice improvements.  Obviously the one that interests me the most is the jitter fix.

Yeah it seems the superhub now outperforms the VMNG300 in terms of jitter, and as the superhub can bond more channels it looks like it is now the better device

With the VMNG you got "blocks" of low jitter, the superhub on R36 now seems to be consistently low

Offline Craig

  • SysOp
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,543
  • Reputation: 6
Re: Superhub R36 Firmware!!
« Reply #16 on: June 19, 2012, 02:54:23 pm »
Wouldnt want it released too quick, there seems to be quite a few bugs

Bugs being reported so far:

  • GUI not responding until power cycle
  • OBSS when enabled kills wireless speeds
  • Firewall set to anything above low blocks MSN
  • Showing wireless devices as wired in device list
  • Some are still getting reboots and factory resets

to add to these there are some more:

  • Useage couter not reporting stats correctly - people downloading large ISOs 4gb+ and its saying 8mb, and some not downloading anything and racking u 32gb over night
  • DHCP defaults to 1 hour lease time
  • Some wireless bugs, dropouts etc despite there being some improvements

As well as this people are still asking for support for custom DNS servers

Offline Craig

  • SysOp
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,543
  • Reputation: 6
Re: Superhub R36 Firmware!!
« Reply #17 on: June 19, 2012, 05:25:58 pm »
17:25 ping to BBC:

Code: [Select]
Ping statistics for 212.58.241.131:
Packets: Sent = 138, Received = 138, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 13ms, Maximum = 23ms, Average = 16ms

138 pings, maximum at 23ms, where previously it would have had a maximum in the 100's and this is 5:30 peak time :)

Offline Tazz

  • ACF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Reputation: 0
Re: Superhub R36 Firmware!!
« Reply #18 on: June 19, 2012, 09:33:49 pm »
17:25 ping to BBC:

Code: [Select]
Ping statistics for 212.58.241.131:
Packets: Sent = 138, Received = 138, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 13ms, Maximum = 23ms, Average = 16ms

138 pings, maximum at 23ms, where previously it would have had a maximum in the 100's and this is 5:30 peak time :)

Did you US channel change causing you better jitter? My graph looks no diff since the upgrade last night: http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/c2d64d6191e3b4b4dcc3dc57df5f4f07-19-06-2012.html

Offline Craig

  • SysOp
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,543
  • Reputation: 6
Re: Superhub R36 Firmware!!
« Reply #19 on: June 19, 2012, 10:58:05 pm »
Did you US channel change causing you better jitter? My graph looks no diff since the upgrade last night: http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/c2d64d6191e3b4b4dcc3dc57df5f4f07-19-06-2012.html

nope its the exact same channel :)

Offline RB2004

  • ACF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Reputation: 3
Re: Superhub R36 Firmware!!
« Reply #20 on: June 19, 2012, 11:20:18 pm »
wish my jitter had reduced.. lol it seems to of stayed the same due to probably over congestion.

Ironically a few weeks ago they changed from 4 to 6 channels.. which made an improvement for a while.. but since i guess thousands of new people have had their doubhle speed upgrades etc so its dragged it down again.

they should of just gone to 8 channels outright.



overall though the R36 firmware I have to agree is a bit of an improvement :) wireless seems a lot more stable as well.. so much so that ive switched off the wireless access point connected to it and trying out using the superhubs wireless again.

guess people dont have a reason to want the VMNG300 any more lol.

Offline Craig

  • SysOp
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,543
  • Reputation: 6
Re: Superhub R36 Firmware!!
« Reply #21 on: June 19, 2012, 11:48:43 pm »
its upstream congestion that causes jitter, thats where you congestion is

Offline Chrysalis

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 608
  • Reputation: 0
Re: Superhub R36 Firmware!!
« Reply #22 on: June 20, 2012, 09:22:37 am »
I wouldnt jump the gun yet to say its automatically better than the vmng300 because none of you have a direct comparison to make.

craig's upstream channel for sure is less utilised than mine as even before you guys got the new firmware his jitter was better than when I last used the superhub.

an idea then would be to see what the jitter looks like on the other upstream channels craig like that old one you had which was very congested.

Offline RB2004

  • ACF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Reputation: 3
Re: Superhub R36 Firmware!!
« Reply #23 on: June 20, 2012, 08:39:36 pm »
Hi, thanks for the reply regarding upload being the problem.

I didnt know that lol.

Seems to be getting worse though, notice now the green bit is spiking up as well

Offline Craig

  • SysOp
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,543
  • Reputation: 6
Re: Superhub R36 Firmware!!
« Reply #24 on: June 29, 2012, 06:11:05 pm »
Looks like they arent bothing with any fixes and rolling the firmware out monday

http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Fibre-optic-broadband-cable/Excellent-NEWS-R36-firmware/m-p/1292237

Offline Craig

  • SysOp
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,543
  • Reputation: 6

Offline Craig

  • SysOp
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,543
  • Reputation: 6
Re: Superhub R36 Firmware!!
« Reply #26 on: June 30, 2012, 02:37:41 pm »
similar announcement in the beta forum, which basically says "thanks for wasting your time identifying bugs in the firmware, but we have decided to go ahead and release the update anyway"

After taking so much stick with the last batches of updates you would think they would learn!! Here is the announcement:

Quote
After the Go/No-Go call today we've decided to move to the next stage in piloting the Super Hub, a public pilot in selected areas for around 8000 Super Hub users. If this is successful next week we'll start deploying R36 to all Super Hubs across our network in the following two weeks.

Thanks to your help we're confident that there aren't any show stopping bugs that affect people's service in R36. We'll keep this forum open for a few more weeks to help us investigate the bugs that you've found and help us start work on fixing them in a future firmware release. So please continue to keep us up to date with your feedback and answer any questions from myself and our forum team about your issues.

On Monday I'll update our known issues list and I'll also post up the results of the survey we conducted as well.

Thanks again for all your help
Mark Wilkin
Help & Support Forum Manager

Offline Chrysalis

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 608
  • Reputation: 0
Re: Superhub R36 Firmware!!
« Reply #27 on: July 01, 2012, 11:00:32 am »
Craig what were these bugs you have mentioned then?

Then I will post my view if best to go ahead or not.

Offline Craig

  • SysOp
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,543
  • Reputation: 6
Re: Superhub R36 Firmware!!
« Reply #28 on: July 01, 2012, 01:54:38 pm »
  • People still reporting reboots
  • Factory resets also seem to still be happening randomly, but a slight improvements on R30
  • Greenfield mose on wifi kills speed down to less than 5mb
  • Useage counter doesnt work at all, either doesnt count data or counts hundreds of gigs under no useage
  • GUI not loading, needs power cycle
  • New PS3 issues (not entirely sure what these are but people are saying it doesnt happen in modem mode
  • Event log dates are completley wrong, showing months out and even 00 as the month
  • New problems with apple devices connecting over wireless
  • Firewall blocking applications when turned on
  • Power levels seem to drop by 4 or 5db when R36 is installed
  • Issues with SIP phones
  • Port forwarding bugs affect respond to ping feature
  • as well as the above quite a few have reported the superhub doesnt respond to pings at all with the new firmware, even with no port forwarding, and after a factory reboot
  • Some GUI bugs in IE9
  • Modem stats dont show in remote access view (this has been confirmed to be a security feature rather than a bug)
  • To add to the above there are no modem stats behind the password, so basically you cant access these at all in remote console
  • Pre-RS errors are showin incorrectly, this is a known issue (it would seem anything the superhub needs to calculate itself it does wrong)

And popular feature requests from the beta forum are:

  • Custom DNS
  • Wireless MAC filtering

Offline Chrysalis

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 608
  • Reputation: 0
Re: Superhub R36 Firmware!!
« Reply #29 on: July 01, 2012, 04:08:43 pm »
quite a list then, apart from the reboots are the rest all new bugs to R36?